Every way to get it
Get LEAP Hand
Carnegie Mellon University · open hardware
Buy it from the maker, source the parts yourself, print or outsource the printed parts, or hire someone who has built one. Same numbers, side by side, then a helper that picks one for your budget, tools, time and experience.
- Maker sale
- Not sold by the maker
- Parts, best region
- $1,772+ US
- Printer time
- —
- Fully buildable
- yes
Fig 1/4Render/cmu/leap-hand

01
Side by side
Figures from the package · US pricesA
Not offeredBuy from the maker
What you getNot sold by the maker. The registry lists no maker sale for this robot.
Cost—
Time—
Tools—
Skill—
Unknowns—
No store link
B
16/17 pricedSource the parts
What you getA cart of 17 BOM lines (41 parts) across vendors, maker's store first.
Cost$1,772+1 lines unpriced.
- IN$1,772 · 16 n/a
- US$1,772
- EU$1,772 · 16 n/a
- CN$1,772 · 16 n/a
TimeAssembly time not stated13 steps without a timePackage caveat: The LEAP Purchase page says the ROBOTIS/Dexbotics partnership has ended, so ROBOTIS no longer sells LEAP Dynamixel kits or assembled hands through it, though the ROBOTIS bundle page still loads. Third-party assembled hands (Amazon, Taobao) are not affiliated with LEAP.
ToolsFDM printer (Ender 3 S1 used upstream; direct drive needed for flexible filament) · Cura 5 · Soldering iron (250 °C) · PH00 Phillips screwdriver (a motorised one is recommended) · M2/M3 hex keys · +9 more
SkillSoldering, crimping. 13 steps4 safety-critical
Unknowns
- 1 line prices
- Shipping, duties, taxes
C
17 printedPrint it, or have it printed
What you get17 printed parts.
Cost—No grams in the package, so no filament cost. Print services quote from the files.
TimePrint time not stated.
ToolsFDM printerMinimum bed not stated
SkillPLA
Unknowns
- 17 parts with no grams or hours
- Print-service prices
- Largest part size
D
Certified at L5Hire a builder
What you getSomeone who has built this robot assembles it for you, or with you.
CostQuoteParts plus labour. No builder rates are published yet.
TimeSet with the builder.
ToolsNone
SkillNone
Unknowns
- No certified teams yet: certification needs L5, LEAP Hand is L2.
- Availability near you
02
Which way is yours
Rules, not a model · every reason is shownRecommended pathquote
- 02Source parts, use a print serviceNeeds soldering or crimping; you have no soldering iron ticked.$1,772 + print quote
- 03Source parts, print at homeNeeds an FDM printer; you have none ticked.$1,772+
03
Build readiness
What makes a robot fully buildable- ■Open hardware (CAD + BOM public)yes
- ■Build package compiledyes
- ■BOM lines with a vendor17/17
- ■Fabrication list6 entries
- ■Assembly steps, each with a check13/13
- ■Firmware describedyes
04
Honest unknowns
What this page cannot tell you- 1 of 17 BOM lines carry no price.
- Lines with no vendor, by region: IN 16, EU 16, CN 16.
- 17 printed parts have neither grams nor print time.
- 13 assembly steps have no time estimate.
- Resale and used units: not tracked.
- Shipping, duties and taxes: not included anywhere on this page.
Lead-time notes from the package
- Package caveat The LEAP Purchase page says the ROBOTIS/Dexbotics partnership has ended, so ROBOTIS no longer sells LEAP Dynamixel kits or assembled hands through it, though the ROBOTIS bundle page still loads. Third-party assembled hands (Amazon, Taobao) are not affiliated with LEAP.